Philanthropists of the Year

This award recognizes individuals, couples, or families that have demonstrated exceptional generosity in the promotion and support of The Pennsylvania State University. Through their philanthropy, the recipients have helped to shape Penn State’s future and enabled us to better serve students and citizens.

2013 Philanthropists of the Year - Tracy and Ted McCourtney

A former social worker and an independent investor: Tracy ’65 and Ted McCourtney are an ideal philanthropic partnership, and their many gifts to Penn State reflect a marriage of compassion and vision, one which has had a profound impact on the University and, especially, on the College of the Liberal Arts. The struggles of Tracy’s own family to pay for her Penn State education inspired their endowment of three undergraduate scholarships, which have helped more than 350 Liberal Arts students to earn their degrees. At the same time, the McCourtneys are helping to ensure that the students who come to Penn State and the college are finding an extraordinary academic community here. Through endowments for graduate students and faculty, Tracy and Ted are supporting the present and future leaders who set the standard in disciplines including psychology, sociology, English, and American history. They have also become strategic partners with the college in some of its most exciting initiatives. Their gift to the Moore Building renovation and addition was vital in moving that project forward. Tracy and Ted made a lead gift in the campaign to honor Dean Susan Welch for her twenty years of service to Penn State, which inspired several hundred other gifts. Within the last year, they have created an early career professorship in psychology, a fund for the Career Enrichment Network, and a director’s fund in the Center for Democratic Deliberation, which will be matched with funds from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Through these and many other gifts to Penn State, and through their support for Ted’s alma mater, Notre Dame, the McCourtneys have set an inspiring example of philanthropic leadership for higher education.

Philanthropists of the Year, 2002 to 2012

2012 - Mrs. Edna Peterson Bennett Pierce
2011 - Mr. Terrence M. Pegula and Mrs. Kim Pegula
2010 - Mr. Stephen G. Sheetz and Mrs. Nancy L. Sheetz
2009 - Mr. Edward H. Arnold and Mrs. Jeanne Donlevy Arnold
2007 - Mr. William A. Schreyer, Mrs. Joan Legg Schreyer, and Ms. DrueAnne B. Schreyer
2006 - Mr. J. David Rogers and Mrs. Patricia Maloney Rogers
2005 - Mr. William L. Weiss and Mrs. Josephine Berry Weiss
2004 - Mr. William E. Leonhard and Mrs. Wyllis Leonhard
2003 - Mr. Harold J. Marcus, Ph.D., and Mrs. Inge Marcus
2002 - Mr. J. Lloyd Huck and Mrs. Dorothy Foehr Huck