Fundraising Volunteer of the Year

This award recognizes individuals, couples, or groups who have served as fundraising volunteers, teachers, or mentors while demonstrating exceptional commitment and leadership in building philanthropic support for The Pennsylvania State University.

Linda Gall Honored as Penn State’s 2014 Fundraising Volunteer of the Year

Photo of Linda Gall

When Linda Gall moved from New York to Happy Valley with her husband, Blake, and her young family in 1985, she found a new passion in her new hometown’s institution—and Penn State found one of its most loyal and dedicated leaders. Inspired by the impact of the University in the Centre region and beyond, Linda and Blake began supporting Penn State programs ranging from public broadcasting to Shaver’s Creek Environmental Center. Scholarships had made their own educations at Princeton University possible, and over the years, they created six Trustee Scholarships for Penn State students. Their commitments to the University have also included a faculty fellowship in the Smeal College of Business and support for the arts and women’s athletics, but Linda’s most important gift to Penn State has been her enthusiasm and expertise as a volunteer. Past president of the Friends of the Palmer Art Museum Board and former volunteer chair for the President’s Club, Linda has served on many other boards and committees both at the University and in the region, and the Galls were honored by the Renaissance Fund in 2006 for their leadership in the Penn State and State College communities. During the For the Future campaign, she has served as a member of the executive committee and as chair of the stewardship committee, ensuring that other donors find supporting the University as meaningful and rewarding as she has. An honorary alumna of Penn State, Linda continues to bridge town and gown through both her philanthropy and her leadership.

Fundraising Volunteers of the Year, 2002 – 2013

  • 2013 - David and Ann Hawk
  • 2012 - Mr. Robert E. Fenza
  • 2011 - Mr. William A. Jaffe
  • 2010 - Mr. John J. Curley
  • 2009 - Mrs. E. Lee Beard
  • 2008 - Mrs. Jane W. Zimmerman
  • 2007 - Mr. Edward P. Junker III
  • 2006 - Mrs. Helen Skade Hintz
  • 2005 - Mr. Bruce R. Miller
  • 2004 - Mr. David W. Reese
  • 2003 - Mr. Robert Klein and Mrs. Judith Auritt Klein
  • 2002 - Mr. Arthur J. Nagle and Mrs. Paige L. Nagle